5 Short History of Best University based on WCU (World Class University) in Indonesia 2021

5 Short History of Best University based on WCU (World Class University) in Indonesia 2021

World University Rankings 2022 have been released and 16 universities in Indonesia are categorized within it. The Director-General of Higher Education in Indonesia, Nizam, appreciated these achievements. Within these achievements, he hoped that the ranks of universities in Indonesia encourage the relevant and increase the quality in higher education so that it might give a contribution to the next generation as well as the human resources. Let’s dig deeper into the history below!

Further reading: Roadmap to Become a World-Class University

Universitas Gadjah Mada

Universitas Gadjah Mada or known as UGM was established in the beginning Indonesia’s independence. Firstly, the name of this university is “Universitas Negeri Gadjah Mada”. This is as a result from the compilation of several other schools that was established earlier before such as Balai Perguruan Tinggi Gadjah Mada, Sekolah Tinggi Teknik, and Akademi Ilmu Politik where placed in Yogyakarta, Balai Pendidikan Ahli Hukum in Solo, as well as Perguruan Tinggi Kedokteran Bagian Praklinis in Klaten.

The meaning of Gadjah Mada has a unique meaning that is the spirit and example of Mahapatih Gadjah Mada who succeeded in uniting the archipelagoes. Furthermore, at the beginning of this university, UGM only had 6 faculties. As time goes by, today, the faculty has grown into 18 faculties.

Universitas Indonesia

Universitas Indonesia or commonly known as UI is located in the north of Depok, West Java. Whilst, the other universities are placed in Salemba, Jakarta and Cikini also in Jakarta. This university was founded when the Dutch colonial government established a school in order to help additional medical assistants who hold certificates to perform basic care and obtain the title of Javanese doctor.

Universitas Indonesia has 9 faculties at the beginning that were spread in many other cities such as Jakarta, Bandung, Bogor, Makassar, and Surabaya. Then, nowadays, there are 14 faculties and 2 postgraduate schools as well as one vocation program.

Institut Teknologi Bandung

In the 20th century, Dutch colonialism built de Techniche Hoogeschool te Bandung or known as TH at that time and now known as ITB. There is only one faculty namely de Faculteit van Technische Wetenschap or known as the Faculty of Technical Science and only one major that is de afdeeling der We gen Waterbouw or known as the Department of Roads Hydraulic Engineering

Universitas Airlangga

The history of Universitas Airlangga or known as UNAIR begins with the educational institutions of the Nederlands Indische Artsen School and the School Tot Opleiding van Indische Tandartsen (STOVIT), which were founded by the Dutch East Indies government in 1913 and 1928. After the independence period was disturbed, in 1948 the Dutch occupation established the Tandheelkunding Instituut which is a branch of the Universiteit van Indonesia Jakarta or known as Universitas Indonesia. Finally, UNAIR has 14 faculties and 3 campuses in Surabaya.

Institut Pertanian Bogor

The forerunner of Institut Pertanian Bogor or known as IPB began 76 years ago since agricultural higher education was first held in Indonesia in 1940. IPB was officially formed on September 1st 1963. Starting from the establishment of the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, the University of Indonesia in Bogor. The establishment of the faculty is the forerunner of IPB as well as marking a new chapter of agricultural higher education in Indonesia. Prof.Dr. PA Hoesin Djajadiningrat is a figure who played a role in initiating the establishment of the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences. And today, IPB currently has 36 Departments, 21 Study Centers, 159 undergraduate and postgraduate study programs and 18 diploma education expertise programs.

Related article: The Best 10 Universities in ASEAN According to Webometrics 2021

No Comments

Post A Comment